Aggressive Murder Defense
Standing Beside Polk & Lakeland County Reisdents
If you are accused of murder, your entire life could change based on a
judge or jury's ruling. Murder is often considered the most serious
crime, and in Florida, convicted murderers may even face the death penalty.
Hire Colón & McNelis, PA to represent you.
Degrees of Murder in Florida
Individuals convicted of premeditated murder are proven to have carried
out an intentional killing of another person. According to Florida law,
the prosecution must prove that the murder was a pre-planned act in order
to convict the defendant of this crime. First-degree murder can also be
felony murder, which occurs when a person kills another while in the process
of committing a separate felony.
Penalties for first-degree murder include one of the following:
- Life sentence without parole
Second-degree murder is defined as murder with a depraved mind, also referred
to as murder by a person with no regard for human life. Second-degree
murder also applies to accomplice felony murder, which is the act of aiding
another person in murder. If you help a person murder an individual while
committing another felony, this can also be considered second-degree murder
Penalties for second-degree murder include:
- Up to life in prison -- The 10 - 20 - Life Law requires that a person who
uses a firearm to commit murder must have a mandatory minimum sentence
of 25 years in prison.
- Up to life on probation
- Up to $10,000 in fines
Lastly, Floridians can be convicted of third-degree murder. This charge
is used for unintentional killings, or when a person kills another person
while attempting to commit a non-violent felony.
Penalties for third-degree murder include:
- Up to 15 years in prison
- Up to 15 years of probation
- Up to $10,000 in fines
If you murder another individual because you had reasonable fear for your
safety or the safety of your family, then you may be able to defend your
actions on the basis of self-defense. Murder cases are taken very seriously,
and you will want a well-trained and aggressive attorney to help you gather
evidence to support this claim.
You can also argue that the police arrested you on the basis of mistaken
identity or present an alibi that shows you were not at the scene of the
crime when it was committed. Call a skilled
Polk County criminal defense attorney at our firm today if you want to learn more about securing dedicated defense
for your case. We can stand beside you in the courtroom and do all we
can to achieve satisfactory results on your behalf!